Skip to main content

PS5 restock: GameStop finally made it easy to buy PS5 this week

PS5 restock
(Image credit: Future)

Update: The GameStop PS5 restock today represented a turning point, according to PS5 restock Twitter tracker Matt Swider will send you an alert when the console is in stock – if you follow his account and turn on notifications.

It was easier to buy a PS5 bundle from GameStop in an online sale that was initially said to be limited to its PowerUp Po members (other people got it eventually). In a sign that demand for the Sony console is being met to some degree, Walmart and Sony Direct had large restocks – and Sam's Club dropped PS5 Disc (leaving Walmart with PS5 Digital.

Where will PS5 restock next? We think Best Buy on Monday. When? Glad you asked.

  • When? Follow our PS5 restock Twitter tracker Matt Swider for notifications and live restock news. It's the fastest way to get real-time PS5 restock updates.
  • Don't buy from Twitter users – which are all scams. Only buy from the US stores Matt alerts you about. No legitimate person will sell a PS5 for just $550.
See more

Trust and credibility: Matt has helped nearly 45,000 people get a next-gen console in recent weeks with his in-stock Twitter alerts and restock news reporting.

PS5 restock

(Image credit: Matt Swider / Twitter)

PS5 restock news for June 18: GameStop, not Best Buy

We know Best Buy is preparing for a PS5 restock soon (it has added a new bundle in the last week and has teased the add-to-cart button), but we're not confident it'll be today based on the updated information from our sources. There was no inventory at Best Buy warehouses as of yesterday, but when that has happened before, it usually means a restock will happen early the next week.

Instead, the GameStop PS5 restock went live today and was meant for PowerUp Pro members at 11:30am EDT / 10:30am CDT / 9:30am MDT / 8:30am PDT.

See more
  • If it'll be PS5 bundles only (this is likely since GameStop can still sell through bundles in a matter of a few minutes)
  • If there will be a PS5 restock for everyone else who isn't a PowerUp pro member afterward the initial 11:30am EDT time

We'll continue to report on the PS5 restock news next week because, as you can tell, there was no Best Buy restock and we have a strong feeling it'll be on Monday.

Matt Swider

US Editor-in-Chief

Matt Swider is TechRadar's gadget-savvy, globe-trotting US Editor-in-Chief Editor who leads the US team in New York City. He began his tech journalism career all the way back in 1999 at the ripe at of 14, and first started writing for TechRadar in 2012. He's tested over 1,000 phones, tablets and wearables and commands a Twitter account of 600,000+ followers. Matt received his journalism degree from Penn State University and is never seen without his TechRadar headphones.