Skip to main content

Red Dead Redemption 2 confirmed for 2017

Rockstar has confirmed Red Dead Redemption 2, a follow-up to 2010's much loved western adventure. It's set to come to PS4 and Xbox One.

The game will launch in Fall 2017 and a trailer will be released this Thursday at 11AM EST (8AM PT, 4PM BST) as we correctly predicted

Rockstar has called the game, "an epic tale of life in America’s unforgiving heartland."

See more

A 'vast and atmospheric world'

"The game's vast and atmospheric world will also provide the foundation for a brand new online multiplayer experience."

Sam Houser, Founder of Rockstar Games, said, "With Red Dead Redemption 2, the team is working hard to push forward our vision for interactive entertainment in a truly living world.

"We hope to deliver players an epic experience that builds upon everything we've learned making games." 

There's no word on a PC release for Red Dead Redemption 2 and as yet there's no confirmation whether the first game's protagonist John Marston will return.

The picture released by Rockstar suggests we will see a gang of seven outlaws, which could be connected to Marston's gang he speaks about in the first game. Hopefully on Thursday we'll find out.

James Peckham

James is Senior Phones Editor for TechRadar, and he has covered smartphones for the best part of a decade bringing you news on all the big announcements from top manufacturers making mobile phones. James is often testing out and reviewing the latest and greatest mobile phones, smartwatches, tablets, virtual reality headsets, fitness trackers and more. He has also worked on other leading tech brands, such as T3 and Gizmodo UK, as well as appearing as an expert on TV and radio for the BBC and other publications. Be sure to follow him on Twitter for all the latest smartphone news.


James is currently most excited about the Samsung Galaxy S22, God of War: Ragnarok and the rumored foldable iPhone